New California Driving Laws, just issued by AAA! (Updated)

I ran across this email sent to all AAA employees, I thought it would be useful for the rest of you Californian’s.

1. Carpool lane – 1st time $1068.50 starting 7 /1/07 (The $271 posted
on the highway is old). Don’t do it again because 2nd time is going to be
double. 3rd time triple, and 4th time license suspended.

2. Incorrect lane change – $380. Don’t cross the lane on solid lines or intersections.

3. Block intersection – $485

4. Driving on the shoulder – $450

5. Cell phone use in the construction zone. – Double fine as of 07/01/07.
Cell phone use must be “hands free” while driving.

6. Passengers over 18 not in their seatbelts – both passengers and drivers get tickets

7. Speeders can only drive 3 miles above the limit.

8. DUI = JAIL (Stays on your driving record for 10 years!)

9. As of 07/01/07 cell phone use must be “hands free” while driving.
Ticket is $285. They will be looking for this like crazy – easy money for police department.

Better start shopping for those bluetooth earpieces.

Thanks to some commenters, and it appears this story isn’t 100% true, many of these laws are taking effect in July, why I would receive this from AAA is strange to me please below for more information:

3 Responses

  1. Disaster Blogger Says:

    Check you sources …

  2. Jeff Says:

    This is a hoax email.

  3. Devitalized Says:

    Laws differ from county to county. One should check with the local court house for new or updated laws.

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.